Food Doctor Bagels – Are they Kosher?

Sometimes people ask whether I can think of anything positive to say about Patrick Holford and the Institute for Optimum Nutrition.

Well, every cloud has a silver lining as they say and I have to confess to having been a real fan of The Food Doctor’s bagels.  Though something happened to them about three months ago.  They and the pitta bread seemed to disappear.  It was impossible to find them in Wales and when I went to England on a visit I could not find them there either.  Relecutantly, I slowly started to consider that I might have to find another type of bagel.

However, last week there they were in my local Tesco.  So with joy I bought a packet of pitta bread and bagels!  But there seemed to be something a bit different about them.  The bagels I was familiar with had the letters KLBD on them meaning, of course, that they had been certified by the Kashrut division of the London Beit Din.  Have they lost their kosher certification?  Also, if I remember correctly the sodium contact of the old bagels was .23 or .26g.  However, the new ones have 0.3g which should mean – according to my copy of Nutrition for Dummies – that the salt content is .75g.  (To calculate salt content you multimply the sodium content by 2.5)  However, they list the salt content as 0.9g.  Is something nutritionally strange going on here or can some one just not add up?

I’ll try to give them a call later in the week about the salt content and kosher certification.  Until then I’ll be buying The New York Bakery Co’s multi-seed bagels which come in packs of five rather than four, have 0.8g of salt and are 5p a pack a cheaper.

2 Responses to “Food Doctor Bagels – Are they Kosher?”

  1. jdc325 Says:

    I’ve got a guess as to the salt weirdness:

    If the bagels contain 0.34g sodium and they’re rounding this off to one decimal place when they’re labelling the sodium content then the packaging would state 0.3g. If they’re using the figure of 3.4g and multiplying that by 2.5 to get an accurate figure for salt content, then they’ll get 0.85g which (rounding off to one decimal place again) gives you 0.9g for labelling purposes. I think that makes sense.

    PS – welcome back to the blogosphere Lee.

  2. dvnutrix Says:

    Lots of sense there with the sodium to salt calculation.

    Donds on the welcome back to blogging, Lee.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

