One coincidence after another …

Do you remember dear readers how I told you about my seminar with Patrick Holford? Well he was very pleased that Health Products for Life were able to attend. What a coincidence that they were free that evening! They were selling plastic containers with Patrick’s face on them. They were filled with pills coincidentally recommended by Patrick. Mrs Holford was running a book store at the back of the hall. It just so happened all the books were written by her husband.

I have experienced a number of coincidences recently as well. Recently I learnt that David Colquhoun will be in Oxford on the afternoon of Saturday 07 February 2009. Rather coincidentally it appears Andy Lewis of the Quackometer blog will be in town at the same time. Even more bizarrely Oxford Town Hall has a room available for hire on the very same afternoon. By a strange twist of fate I am free that afternoon as well and could bring some coffee and biscuits along if I can find any shops selling such items.

Possibly some of you will be in Oxford as well that day or would that be a coincidence too far ???

A man who really knew about coincidences was the late and much-lamented Professor Richard Feynman:

You know, the most amazing thing happened to me tonight. I was coming here, on the way to the lecture, and I came in through the parking lot. And you won’t believe what happened. I saw a car with the license plate ARW 357. Can you imagine? Of all the millions of license plates in the state, what was the chance that I would see that particular one tonight? Amazing…

Leave a Reply

